News Stories

Toledo GM Neil Neukam named co-recipient of ECHL Executive of the Year award

Toledo GM Neil Neukam named co-recipient of ECHL Executive of the Year award

The Toledo Walleye announced today that General Manager Neil Neukam has been selected by the ECHL Board of Governors as co-recipient of the 2017-18 ECHL Executive of the Year award along with Jacksonville Icemen President Bob Ohrablo.

Under Neukam’s guidance, Toledo set an ECHL record with over 69,000 group tickets sold during the 2017-18 season while also setting team records for sellouts (28), total attendance (273,613) and average attendance (7,600), which was second in the league. The Walleye saw a growth of 11 percent in season-ticket sales over the 2016-17 season as the team reached the 50-win mark on the ice for the second consecutive season.

“While I am extremely proud to receive this award, along with Bob, I also want to recognize the dedicated people within the Walleye organization who constantly strive to make each game fun and exciting for our FINatic members, our fans, our corporate and community partners,” said Neukam. “I am honored to be a part of Toledo’s rich hockey history and I am excited for what’s ahead.”

Neukam is in his second full season as general manager and executive vice president for the Walleye, and is also in his 26th season with the Toledo Mud Hens Baseball Club, where he spent 17 seasons as Assistant General Manager focusing on corporate partnerships. Neukam is a member of the ECHL Marketing Committee and ECHL Media Committee to assist with League Programs and overall growth of the League.

Co-recipient Ohrablo helped bring professional hockey back to Jacksonville for the first time since 2008.  The Icemen ranked second in the ECHL in group ticket sales in their inaugural season, created a non-profit of the night program, and the Jacksonville Icemen Foundation.


ECHL Executive Of The Year Winners

2017-18           Neil Neukam, Toledo Walleye and Bob Ohrablo, Jacksonville Icemen

2016-17           Brent Thiessen, Kansas City Mavericks

2015-16           Kristin Ropp, Cincinnati Cyclones

2014-15           Joe Napoli, Toledo Walleye

2013-14           Matthew Riley, Bakersfield Condors

2012-13           Joe Napoli, Toledo Walleye

2011-12           Justin Kemp, Ontario Reign

2010-11           Dan Chapman, Stockton Thunder

2009-10           Kristin Ropp, Cincinnati Cyclones

2008-09           Gordon Kaye, Reading Royals

2007-08           Darren Abbott, South Carolina Stingrays

2006-07           Matthew Riley, Bakersfield Condors

2005-06           Steve Chapman, Gwinnett Gladiators

2004-05           Steve Chapman, Gwinnett Gladiators

2003-04           Terry Parks, Alaska Aces

2002-03           John Butler, Peoria Rivermen

2001-02           Matt Loughran, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies

2000-01           Craig Brush, Florida Everblades

1999-00           Brian McKenna, Trenton Titans

1998-99           Carl Scheer, Greenville Grrrowl

1997-98           Charles Felix, Pensacola Ice Pilots

1996-97           David Paitson, Columbus Chill

1995-96           Dave Berryman, Louisiana IceGators

1994-95           Harry Fuerstein/Craig Laughlin, Richmond Renegades

1993-94           John Gagnon/Pierre Paiement, Roanoke Express

1992-93           Larry Kish, Wheeling Thunderbirds